top of page



The Little Rock Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated had its birth as a mixed chapter on March 28, 1942. Soror Sue Cowan Williams was authorized by Grand Chapter to establish the chapter because of her prior experience as Southern Regional Director. The chapter’s first name was Gamma Gamma Mixed Chapter and included students from Philander Smith College and graduate Deltas in the city of Little Rock. Soror Hazel Bowers served as the chapter’s first president. The projects of the mixed chapter involved both the undergraduate and the graduate chapter. Among the outstanding activities of the chapter were Sunday afternoon vespers, town meetings of community concerns, Founders Day programs, classical vocal concerts and organ concerts, a library project at the “Colored Branch Library” where the chapter donated books and had a reading program and Jabberwock.


When Philander Smith College became fully accredited the president of the college requested that the undergraduates become a separate campus-based organization. In April, 1950 two separate chapters were established. Gamma Gamma became the collegiate chapter and the graduate chapter was renamed Delta Epsilon Sigma with Soror Hazel Bowers serving as the first president. In 1956, in keeping with a revision of nomenclature mandated by the 24th National Convention, Delta Epsilon Sigma was renamed the Little Rock Alumnae Chapter.


The Little Rock Alumnae Chapter immediately began to broaden the scope and depth of its activities. Throughout the chapter’s history, Little Rock Alumnae’s “Women of Excellence” have continued to lead a variety of public service and cultural programs and projects that support the community ranging from providing toiletry and towels for the Little Rock Battered Women’s Shelter, tutoring students at P.A.R.K. (Positive Atmosphere Reaches Kids), working with the Delta Gems and the Delta Academy to Career Fest to recognizing the achievements of African American high school seniors and awarding them scholarships in the chapter’s signature program, Delta Presents.


As a graduate chapter, the Little Rock Alumnae Chapter of DST has made a prominent name for itself in the local community, the state and in the nation. Sorors have been involved in all aspects of community life. Soror Lottie Shackleford has served as mayor of Little Rock and Vice Chair of the Democratic National Political Party. In July 2000, the Little Rock Alumnae Chapter was proud to see one of our own, Soror Morlin McCoy elected to the office of National Secretary of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated. Other chapter members have served and are serving on state, regional and national committees.  Our chapter has a membership of over 300 members working for Delta. 

bottom of page